The High-Level Meeting for the Adoption of the JPoA

The High-Level Meeting for the adoption of the JPoA was held in Ashgabat, Turkmenistan, on 30 November 2011. At the Meeting Central Asian States, namely Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, and Turkmenistan, with Uzbekistan opting for observer status, adopted the Joint Plan of Action on implementing the UN Global Counter-Terrorism Strategy in Central Asia. The Ashgabat Meeting also led to the adoption of a Final Declaration expressing support for the Action Plan and for regional cooperation on countering terrorism by the 54 participants representing, in addition to the Central Asian States, ten other Member states of the United Nations, namely Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, China, India, Iran, Norway, Pakistan, Russia, Turkey and the United States, as well as senior United Nations and European Union officials.